Events for Lectures/Discussions

Collector's Book Salon: Tony Weller

On May 25, Tony Weller will discuss 17 reasons books might increase in value. Tony has sold books at Sam Weller Books, renamed Weller Book Works in 2012, since the 1970s. In a massive bookstore with many topics, Tony was awed by the knowledge of older booksellers before becoming overwhelmed by what seemed to be an ever-increasing and insurmountable amount of book information. In the 1980s, he started carefully listing and defining the traits that caused a few books to appreciate in value. The list started with roughly a dozen factors and grew to 17 by the mid-1990s. Half of them are quite uncommon. Two of them account for a majority of collected books. More importantly, the analysis becomes an examination of human desire and the reasons a few desirable books grow in value because of inadequate supply. Collectors navigate by personal interest. A clever bookseller adds clients’ interest to his own. Meet book collectors and unique thinkers at Weller Book Works Collectors’ Book Salon. Glasses are filled and socializing begins at 6:30. Collector’s Chats begin at 7:15.


"Topaz: Our Stories" with Kimi Kodani Hill and Friends

Join Kimi Kodani Hill, granddaughter of Chiura Obata, and other descendants of Japanese American internees, as they share their families’ experiences at the Topaz War Relocation Center near Delta, Utah. During World War II the U.S. government forcibly relocated thousands of Japanese Americans to detention camps, including Topaz, culminating decades of government discrimination against Asian immigrants.


Spring Into Books

Spring into Books is a premier local author showcase, complete with book signings and mini workshops. Join us for this free event at the Viridian Center in West Jordan, Utah to meet your favorite local authors and find your next favorite book. Special guests Josi S. Kilpack and Wendy Knight will be joined by more than 50 other authors signing books. Spring into Books is sponsored by The League of Utah Writers, Salt Lake County Library Services, and The West Jordan Art Council. Since 1935, The League of Utah Writers has been a nonprofit organization supporting aspiring writers of all ages, styles, and experience. It offers outreach, education, contests, conferences, classes, and other events. With more than two dozen chapters throughout Utah, from Logan to St. George, it is the state’s oldest and largest writing community. Find out more about other activities at leagueofutahwriters.com


Book Launch: Christopher Husberg and BLOD REQUIEM!

Join us on June 5 at 6:30 PM for Christopher Husberg and the BOOK LAUNCH of BLOOD REQUIEM, the third book in the CHAOS QUEEN QUINTET! The Nine Daemons are on the rise. Once believed dead and gone, Daemons have found a way back into the world. But the only people who can withstand their assault are spread across the face of the Sfaera. Free at last from the influence of assassins and emperors alike, the psimancer Winter sails back to her hometown—only to find a new trouble stirring. Meanwhile, the heretic sisters Jane and Cinzia Oden are beset by supernatural attacks. And soon their allies, the vampire-girl Astrid and the former assassin Knot, must face the terrifying Black Matron. As new battles are fought, the Daemons creep ever closer to freedom, and the legend of the Chaos Queen may soon be made anew. Christopher Husberg was born in Alaska and studied at Brigham Young University, where he went on to teach creative writing. His debut novel, Duskfall, was published in 2016, and was described as “Perfect for fans of Daniel Abraham and Brandon Sanderson” by Library Journal. He lives with his wife in Lehi, Utah. Please join us for a reading at 6:30, followed by a signing.


The Wildflowers Around Us

The deserts and mountains of Utah’s canyon country, and beyond contain wildflowers of many colors. In fact, flowers of all colors in the visible spectrum can be seen, if you know where to look. In a twist on this theme, some plants produce flowers that display more than one color in each individual flower. These plants are fewer and father between, and some of their flower-color combinations are unexpected. Joel Tuhy, the Conservancy in Utah's Director of Conservation Science and botanist will enlighten you with colorful and fascinating facts about wildflowers around us.


Rest, Repose with Drewsif, The Home Team

www.kilbycourt.com


2018 Fyrecon Guest Author Panel

Join us at Salt Lake County Library's Viridian Event Center for the Free Preview Night with Fyrecon's Master Guest Authors and Artists! They'll be holding a 7:00 p.m. panel discussion titled Heroes and Villains, which will be followed at 8:00 p.m. by an author signing. This year's panel discussion will feature: Shawn Carman Creative Director for Kyoudai Games. Dave Dorman Science Fiction, Fantasay, and Horror Illustrator, best known for his Star Wars artwork. He earned an Eisner Award for his work on Alien: Tribes. Dr. Charles E. Gannon New York Times Bestselling Author, best known for his Caine Riordan series, and his work with Eric Flint and Steve White on the Ring of Fire series. David Farland New York Times Bestselling Author of the Runelords series and author, under the name Dave Wolverton, of Star Wars: The Courtship of Princess Leia. Preston Stone Artist and Art Director for Fantasy Flight Games. Chad Hardin Artist for DC Comics, probably best known for his work on the character Harley Quinn. Christie Craig a.k.a. C. C. Hunter New York Times Bestselling author of the Shadow Falls series, the Divorced and Desperate series, and the Texas Justice series. Fyrecon is a three day conference on the Art and Writing of Science Fiction and Fantasy that offers over 180 workshops and classes facilitated by published authors and working artists. Fyrecon also features four and eight hour master classes by bestselling authors and nationally recognized artists. Fyrecon 2018 will be Thursday, June 21st, through Saturday, June 23rd at Weber State University - Davis Campus - 2750 University Park Boulevard in Layton. For more information about Fyrecon 2018, registration, the 2018 class schedule, the venue, the presenters, or anything else, please visit www.fyrecon.com.


Community Meet-up | Chiura Obata: An American Modern

Join the Utah Museum of Fine Arts and the Topaz Museum in Delta to learn about Chiura Obata, one of the twentieth century’s most significant Japanese American artists. Begin the day at 8 am at the UMFA to see the exhibition Chiura Obata: An American Modern. Experience the breadth of Obata’s lifework and create art inspired by his unique style of printmaking and drawing. Then make your own way to Delta and the Topaz Museum by 1 pm to see the exhibition Topaz Art School, with more of Obata’s work, and learn about the internment camp where Obata was held during World War II. An organized trip from the Topaz Museum to the site of the Topaz internment camp will follow. Please arrive at the Topaz Museum (55 West Main Street, Delta, Utah) at 1 pm sharp to view some short videos followed by a discussion and gallery tour, where several of the museum’s Obata works will be on view. Afterward, guests will travel to the Topaz Internment Camp site by bus; guests are discouraged from driving their own cars to the site, where parking is extremely limited.


WorldStage Summer Concert Series

West Valley City and the Utah Cultural Celebration Center are pleased to welcome The Strike to the WorldStage! Summer Concert Series. The Best of State's "Best Original Band" winners are coming home after a three-month stint in Dubai. Get your funk-rock-pop on! Gates open at 7:30 PM. $5 ADMISSION. Ticket Info coming soon.


Science Friday Live

Live at the Eccles presents Science Friday Live Saturday, September 15th at the Eccles Theater on Main Street in downtown Salt Lake City. ArtTix is the official source for tickets for Live at the Eccles events. Join Ira Flatow and the rest of the SciFri crew as we hit the road to uncover and report on the amazing science news and stories happening in your local area. This is your chance to look behind the curtain of your favorite national radio show and participate in a special live performance with the scientists and conversations you love. This 90-minute program typically features live music, props, video screenings, and demonstrations. And as a bonus, the event will be recorded so you can be a part of the weekly Science Friday broadcast heard on your local station.