Events for Book Readings and Signings

Timpanogos Storytime

A premier storytelling event with attendees from all over North America. Great stories from unforgettable performers. Join national storyteller Bil Lepp for a free evening of stories at the Salt Lake County Library’s Viridian Event Center in West Jordan



Book Signing with author Caitlin Sangster

Sev must decode her mother’s last words to find the cure to Sleeping Sickness before her enemies find it first in this stunning sequel to Last Star Burning, which #1 New York Times bestselling author Aprilynne Pike calls “a rich and timely tale.” No one is safe, not with a horrifying new strain of Sleeping Sickness tearing through the population. After fleeing the City with her friends, Sev has one goal: to find the cure her mother developed and put an end to the epidemic once and for all. But decoding her mother’s last words—to seek out “Port North”—is easier said than done. Nobody she talks to has heard of Port North, and with only Tai-ge and June on her side, Sev fears Dr. Yang will find the cure first, and that he’ll use it to start a new world order under his rule. With no leads, Sev is running out of options—until she discovers someone hiding in the cargo hold of her heli plane. Someone she thought was dead. Someone with maps that could point the way to Port North, if only she could read them. Unfortunately, the one person Sev never wants to see again might be the one person who can help her find the cure.



Book Signing with author Tricia Levenseller

An eighteen-year-old chieftain's daughter must find a way to kill her village’s oppressive deity if she ever wants to return home in Warrior of the Wild, the Viking-inspired YA standalone fantasy from Tricia Levenseller, author of Daughter of the Pirate King. How do you kill a god? As her father's chosen heir, eighteen-year-old Rasmira has trained her whole life to become a warrior and lead her village. But when her coming-of-age trial is sabotaged and she fails the test, her father banishes her to the monster-filled wilderness with an impossible quest: To win back her honor, she must kill the oppressive god who claims tribute from the villages each year or die trying.



Book Signing with author Tricia Levenseller

An eighteen-year-old chieftain's daughter must find a way to kill her village’s oppressive deity if she ever wants to return home in Warrior of the Wild, the Viking-inspired YA standalone fantasy from Tricia Levenseller, author of Daughter of the Pirate King. How do you kill a god? As her father's chosen heir, eighteen-year-old Rasmira has trained her whole life to become a warrior and lead her village. But when her coming-of-age trial is sabotaged and she fails the test, her father banishes her to the monster-filled wilderness with an impossible quest: To win back her honor, she must kill the oppressive god who claims tribute from the villages each year or die trying.



Book Signing with author Caitlin Sangster

Sev must decode her mother’s last words to find the cure to Sleeping Sickness before her enemies find it first in this stunning sequel to Last Star Burning, which #1 New York Times bestselling author Aprilynne Pike calls “a rich and timely tale.” No one is safe, not with a horrifying new strain of Sleeping Sickness tearing through the population. After fleeing the City with her friends, Sev has one goal: to find the cure her mother developed and put an end to the epidemic once and for all. But decoding her mother’s last words—to seek out “Port North”—is easier said than done. Nobody she talks to has heard of Port North, and with only Tai-ge and June on her side, Sev fears Dr. Yang will find the cure first, and that he’ll use it to start a new world order under his rule. With no leads, Sev is running out of options—until she discovers someone hiding in the cargo hold of her heli plane. Someone she thought was dead. Someone with maps that could point the way to Port North, if only she could read them. Unfortunately, the one person Sev never wants to see again might be the one person who can help her find the cure.



Book Signing with author Erin Summerill

A young king searches for a way to save his kingdom in this romantic fantasy from Erin Summerill, who was called “absolutely marvelous” by New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas. Aodren: A lonely, young king, searching for a way to dismantle his father’s dark legacy. Lirra: A girl with the power to control the wind, torn between duty and following her dreams For twenty years, Channelers—women with a magical ability—have been persecuted in Malam by those without magic. Now King Aodren wants to end the bloody divide and unite his kingdom. But decades of hatred can’t be overcome by issuing decrees, and rumors of a deadly Channeler-made substance are only fueling people’s fears. Lirra has every reason to distrust Aodren. Yet when he asks for help to discover the truth behind the rumors, she can’t say no. With Lirra by his side, Aodren sees a way forward for his people. But can he rewrite the mistakes of the past before his enemies destroy the world he’s working so hard to rebuild? Erin Summerill returns with a high-stakes fantasy full of romance, magic, and revenge perfect for fans of Susan Dennard and C. J. Redwine.



Book Signing with author Erin Summerill

A young king searches for a way to save his kingdom in this romantic fantasy from Erin Summerill, who was called “absolutely marvelous” by New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas. Aodren: A lonely, young king, searching for a way to dismantle his father’s dark legacy. Lirra: A girl with the power to control the wind, torn between duty and following her dreams For twenty years, Channelers—women with a magical ability—have been persecuted in Malam by those without magic. Now King Aodren wants to end the bloody divide and unite his kingdom. But decades of hatred can’t be overcome by issuing decrees, and rumors of a deadly Channeler-made substance are only fueling people’s fears. Lirra has every reason to distrust Aodren. Yet when he asks for help to discover the truth behind the rumors, she can’t say no. With Lirra by his side, Aodren sees a way forward for his people. But can he rewrite the mistakes of the past before his enemies destroy the world he’s working so hard to rebuild? Erin Summerill returns with a high-stakes fantasy full of romance, magic, and revenge perfect for fans of Susan Dennard and C. J. Redwine.



The Great Great Salt Lake Monster and Other Lake Explorations

Dr. Bonnie K. Baxter and Jaimi Butler will be here to present The Great Salt Lake Monster Mystery. Join Bonnie and Jaimi, and some young friends of theirs, on an excursion to the Great Salt Lake! Is the monster out there? On their search, they discover a host of other creatures that make the Great Salt Lake great! But wait. there's more! This is far more then just a reading. It's an experience! Kids will have an opportunity to do their own Great Salt Lake science explorations. There will be 3-D printed brine shrimp, salt crystals, brine shrimp cysts, brine shrimp tattoos...even the chance to look at live brine shrimp under microscopes! Dr. Bonnie K. Baxter and Jaimi Butler have worked on lake research and education for a combined forty years. They built the Great Salt Lake Institute at Westminster College where they do research with undergraduate students, explore the lake with teachers, and connect people to our important salty neighbor. Their infectious enthusiasm attracted illustrator Arly Landry to the Institute team her senior year, and the lake soon became her muse. There are many ways to capture the essence of this desert lake; and with this book, Bonnie, Jaimi, and Arly want to share the joy of exploring our living laboratory.

"This book is the best children's book about the Great Salt Lake ever written. This group of inquisitve kids brought me out the mud and salt and I'm proud I could help facilitate learning about our important ecosystem." - The Monster of The Great Salt Lake. There will be a reading of The Great Salt Lake Monster Mystery at 2 PM, followed by the other lake science explorations until 4 PM. For kids of all ages.



The Wild Bunch Film Screening with Author W. K. Stratton

We're proud to partner with Bloomsbury, Utah Humanities, Utah Film Center, and Salt Lake City Public Library for a very special event to commemorate the 50th Anniversary of Sam Peckinpah's classic western The Wild Bunch. Join us as we welcome author W. K. Stratton to Salt Lake City Public Library to discuss his new book The Wild Bunch: Sam Peckinpah, a Revolution in Hollywood, and the Making of a Legendary Film. Mr. Stratton will be answering questions about, and signing copies of, his new book from 6:30 to 7:00 p.m., when he'll introduce the film. Attendees will then enjoy a full screening of The Wild Bunch, courtesy of Utah Film Center. Afterward, Mr. Stratton will answer lingering or new questions anyone has about the film, and will sign any additional copies of his book. Sam Peckinpah's film The Wild Bunch, named one of the greatest films of all time by the American Film Institute, is the story of a gang of outlaws who are one big steal from retirement. When their attempted train robbery goes awry, the gang flees to Mexico and falls in with a brutal general of the Mexican Revolution, who offers them the job of a lifetime. Conceived by a stuntman, directed by a blacklisted director, and shot in the sand and heat of the Mexican desert, the movie seemed doomed. Instead, it became an instant classic with a dark, violent take on the Western movie tradition. In The Wild Bunch, W.K. Stratton tells the fascinating history of the making of the movie and documents for the first time the extraordinary contribution of Mexican and Mexican-American actors and crew members to the movie's success. Shaped by infamous director Sam Peckinpah, and starring such visionary actors as William Holden, Ernest Borgnine, Edmond O'Brien, and Robert Ryan, the movie was also the product of an industry and a nation in transition. By 1968, when the movie was filmed, the studio system that had perpetuated the myth of the valiant cowboy in movies like The Searchers had collapsed, and America was riled by Vietnam, race riots, and assassinations. The Wild Bunch spoke to America in its moment, when war and senseless violence seemed to define both domestic and international life. The Wild Bunch is an authoritative history of the making of a movie and the era behind it.

This event is free and open to the public. Seating will be on a first come, first served basis.