Desert Island Picks: The Magnetic Fields / 69 Love Songs

  • November 16, 2015
  • Share Facebook Twitter

Released in September of 1999, 69 Love Songs is a three-volume album by The Magnetic Fields. All of the songs were written by frontman Stephin Merritt - "I decided I'd write one hundred love songs as a way of introducing myself to the world. Then I realized how long that would be. So I settled on sixty-nine..."

Merritt has also said that "69 Love Songs is not remotely an album about love. It's an album about love songs, which are very far away from anything to do with love."

Listen for Desert Island Picks weekdays at 10:20 am

Send your picks to